2024 Undergraduate Awards for Bioengineering Students

Georgia Georgostathi accepts the Wolf-Hallac Award from Dean Vijay Kumar.

Each spring, awards are given to undergraduate students in the School of Engineering and Applied Science in recognition of outstanding scholarly achievements and service to the School and University community. The 2024 award recipients were recognized in a ceremony held on Wednesday, March 27, 2024 at the Penn Museum.

Read the full list of Bioengineering undergraduate award winners below.

The Wolf-Hallac Award: Georgia Georgostathi. This award was established in October 2000 to recognize the graduating female senior from across Penn Engineering’s departments who is seen as a role model, has achieved a high GPA (in the top 10% of their class), and who has demonstrated a commitment to school and/or community.

Alexandra Dumas accepts the Maddie Magee Award for Undergraduate Excellence.

The Maddie Magee Award for Undergraduate Excellence: Alexandra Dumas. This award is given to a Penn Engineering senior who best exemplifies the energy, enthusiasm, and excellence of Penn Engineering alumna Madison “Maddie” N. Magee (MEAM BS ’21, BE MS ’21).

The Hugo Otto Wolf Memorial Prize: Jude Barakat & Dori Xu. This prize is awarded to one or more members of each department’s senior class, distinguishing students who meet with great approval of the professors at large through “thoroughness and originality” in their work.

The Herman P. Schwan Award: Angela Song. This department award honors a graduating senior who demonstrates the “highest standards of scholarship and academic achievement.”

Penn Engineering Exceptional Service Awards recognize students for their outstanding service to the University and their larger communities: Srish Chenna, Daniel Ghaderi, Taehwan Kim and Daphne Nie.

Chaitanya Karimanasseri accepts the Bioengineering Student Leadership Award.

The Bioengineering Student Leadership Award: Chaitanya Karimanasseri. This award is given annually to a student in Bioengineering who has demonstrated, through a combination of academic performance, service, leadership, and personal qualities, that they will be a credit to the Department, the School, and the University.

Additionally, the Bioengineering Department  also presents a single lab group with the Albert Giandomenico Award which reflects their “teamwork, leadership, creativity, and knowledge applied to discovery-based learning in the laboratory.” This year’s group consists of Alexandra Dumas, Georgia Georgostathi, Daphne Nie and Angela Song.

A full list of Penn Engineering award descriptions and recipients can be found here.

BE award winners enjoy the ceremony reception in the Penn Museum.